Learning how to count – Converted mana costs

In a nutshell

  • The converted mana cost of an object is determined by counting the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.
  • Special mana symbols: {W/U} adds 1, {2/W} adds 2, {W/P} adds 1.
  • When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is
  • treated as 0 if the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it if the object is on the stack.
  • If an object doesn’t have a mana cost, or its mana cost is undefined, that object’s converted mana cost is 0.
  • And that’s it. There is currently no way to change the converted mana cost of an object. In particular, the converted mana cost is not affected by alternative or additional costs, abilities that reduce or set costs, or anything else.

Special rules for split cards:

  • A split card has two sets of characteristics (including mana costs) everywhere except the stack.
  • On the stack, a split card has only the characteristics of the side that was cast. If it was cast fused, it has the combined characteristics of both halves.
  • If something asks for the converted mana cost of a split card that’s not on the stack, it gets (and uses) both answers. (If Far // Away is revealed with Dark Confidant, its controller loses 2 life and 3 life, for a total of 5 life)
  • If something makes a positive comparison involving a split card not on the stack, such as asking if it has a certain mana cost, it makes the comparison on both halves, and returns a “yes” if either comparison yielded a “yes”. (If a player transmutes a Muddle the Mixture, they can find Far // Away because the comparison with Far will give a “yes”.)(If there is a Chalice of the Void with 2 charge counters on it, casting Away or Far//Away fused will not cause it to trigger, whereas casting Far will.)

Q: What is the converted mana cost of…