Commander Week! Today we go over how the Commander replacement effect interacts with Oblivion Ring and Banishing Light.
How do copy effects work with double-faced cards and transforming?
EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's
Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,
Good morning and welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! We all hope you had a wonderful holiday season, and we're back in action, starting with our Prerelease Week for Aether Revolt! Every day this week we'll be going over things you'd like to know for the event, from covering the new mechanics, to refreshers on the old, to logistics on what to expect in general. Today we're starting with Revolution, the new mechanic the Renegades have at their disposal. Revolt isn't a keyword- it's an ability word,
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Keeping the Kaladesh train rolling, today we'll be discussing 's big brother: ! Panharmonicon likes to double up some of your triggered abilities; specifically, any that fire off of an artifact or creature entering the battlefield. So what does that work on? Would it make your come down with twice the counters, or make your harder to transform? The answer to both of those is "no"; those cards have replacement effects which modify the way they enter the battlefield
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today we'll be covering effects that set a life total to a specific number. Right now in Standard we've got a few cards that do this, such as and . When a life total is set to a specific number, most people are just going to change their dice, or scribble out the old number and write in a new one- but technically, the player gains or loses however much life they need to GET to that point. If an effect says you can't gain life, Providence isn't going to do anything.
Welcome back! Eldritch Moon gave us a lot of scary colorless cards, the scariest of which is . Emrakul is the newest in the line of cards that let you control another player during their turn (colloquially called "" effects, after the first such card printed in Mirrodin block!). While it hasn't been that long since we had in Standard, it's much more likely that you'll get an Emrakul pointed at you than a Worst Fears, so let's go over what can and can't be done while you're controlling another player. To