Today, learn how Divine Visitation interacts with certain kinds of token-creating effects!
Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! We sure missed you. Today we'll be starting on our tips from Kaladesh! To start with, we'll cover crewing, and crewing a specific card: . Every Vehicle has the Crew ability, which is followed by a number (in this case, Crew 3). That means that anytime you have priority, you can tap any number of creatures you control with total power 3 or more to Crew that vehicle; it becomes a creature, and has Power and Toughness as printed in the lower-right of the card.
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! With the Kaladesh Prerelease coming up this very weekend, we'll be going over some general tips for the prerelease, as well as a little tutorial on the new mechanics of the set. We'll start this crash course (I will not apologize for the pun) on the first: Vehicles! Vehicles are an interesting new subtype of Artifact; they have a slightly different frame, and a brown Power/Toughness box. Despite having P/T printed on them, they're not creatures- not inherently,
Today we'll be talking about another card from Eldritch Moon, but in the context of some slightly older cards. is a nifty little trick for decks that like to beef up their creatures- it lets you flash in your Auras as combat tricks or at the end of your opponent's turn, and it lets you flash in Equipment and then attach them to things for free! But how does it work with Auras that sometimes aren't, like the Bestow creatures from Theros? Well, the answer is "quite well". Normally the way Bestow works
Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! This week we'll be discussing the new mechanics from Battle for Zendikar, starting with Awaken today! Awaken is an alternate cost found on Instant and Sorcery spells, costing more than the 'normal' cost. If you cast the spell for the alternate "Awaken" cost, you get the added effect of animating one of your own lands as a creature! For example, has Awaken 4. That means if you use the Awakening cost, you'll target a land of yours, and it'll become a 0/0 creature
Making a 5/5 flyer or 5/5 indestructible creature on turn two brightens my soul. Both options are possible with . works by setting the base power and toughness of any artifact to 5/5 and, if it isn’t already, makes it a creature. The best part about this transformation is that it does not affect the card’s text- meaning if it’s a flyer before the Aura resolves it remains a flyer (same with indestructible and so on). See that 0/2 ? Now you’ve got a 5/5 Super-Ornithopter bashing in for a
If Mutavault is a creature when it dies, it will trigger Athreos and will be returned to your hand unless the opponent pays 3 life.